Best Pet Insurance in Oregon (OR) 2022 – Forbes Advisor
In Oregon, state law largely governs owners’ liability to their pets. Here are some of the most important laws that pet owners, especially dog owners, need to know.
Oregon Pet Licensing Laws
In counties with dog control programs, Oregon law requires owners to obtain pet licenses for dogs that are six months old or have their permanent teeth, whichever comes first. To obtain a pet license, dogs must be up to date with their rabies vaccinations. Counties, not cities, issue these licenses.
Obtaining a license for your pet can be inconvenient and represents an additional expense for owning a dog. However, licensing programs can reduce the risk of rabies infections from dog bites, support dog control programs and shelters, and, with microchipping, can make it easier for someone to reunite you. with your lost dog. In fact, if someone finds a dog in Oregon, state law requires them to try to find their owner. You will receive an ID tag with your license, which you must attach to your dog’s collar.
Oregon’s approach to problematic pets and owners
Oregon law takes a compassionate and practical approach to animal bites. If a cat, dog or ferret bites a human, the animal should be confined and observed for 10 days, not euthanized. If the dog has rabies, it will die then. If not, other measures can be taken if necessary to reduce the risk of future bites.
Oregon law requires that pets receive a minimum level of care, including sufficient quantity and quality of food, access to drinking water, veterinary care in the event of illness or injury, a shelter from the elements and a clean, comfortable living environment. Violations may result in a misdemeanor or felony for animal neglect.
Oregon public nuisance laws apply to dogs that bark or make other noises excessively. Dog owners should use humane methods such as training, play, and companionship to curb this behavior. Complaints about barking dogs are handled at the city level.
Portland Pet Laws
Portland has designated off-leash areas for licensed, fully vaccinated dogs to play under the supervision of an owner or sitter. Dogs must be leashed in all other areas of the park, as well as trails, paths, gardens, and playgrounds. No matter where you and your pet get fresh air, you need to clean up their waste.
You cannot allow your dog to dig holes or hunt wildlife, and dogs are never allowed on sports fields, tracks, or grounds. You also cannot allow your dog to enter fountains, ponds, lakes or streams. You are responsible for any injury or damage your dog causes to people or other animals.
Minor infractions are subject to fines of up to $150 per incident. Exceptions apply to assistance, police and rescue dogs.
Salem Pet Laws
Salem sits along the border of Marion and Polk counties, both of which require pet licenses. If you are new to the area or have recently become the owner of the animal, you have 30 days to obtain a license. Marion County is offering senior pet owners a discount for licensing their modified (neutered or neutered) dogs.
Eugene’s Pet Laws
Eugene requires a license for dogs, but also has an ordinance specifically prohibiting unlicensed dogs in the downtown area. A local non-profit organization provides basic veterinary care, including neutering, neutering, and vaccinations, for animals owned by homeless people. The same goes for the Portland Animal Care Team and Pro-Bone-O in Eugene.